Drummer - Percussionist - Educator - Composer

Mecca Review for Daily Freeman


  • Michael Falzarano - Guitar, Vocals
  • Jimmy Eppard -Guitar, Vocals
  • Harvey Sorgen - Drums, Drums Producer, Rubboard Percussion
  • Steve Rust - Bass
  • Jorma Kaukonen - Electric Bass - Table Steel Guitar
  • Larry Packer - Additional Keyboards
  • Danny Lewis - Organ Piano
  • Dave Castiglione - Saxophone
  • Pete Sears -Accordion Piano

Mecca the first release from Michael Falazarano & The Memphis Pilgrims positions this roots-rock band firmly on the map, pointed to the Mecca of Memphis and not too far from their destination. Mecca as the album is appropriately titled, features 12 songs penned by Pilgrims/Hot Tuna guitarist Michael Falazarano.  The songs played in a comfortable yet technically excellent way by Falzarano along with Jimmy Eppard on Guitar, Steve Rust on bass and Harvey Sorgen on drums and making guest appearances are the legendary Hot Tuna guitarist Jorma Kaukonen, current Tuna and ex-Jefferson Starship member Pete Sears on piano and accordion, Danny Lewis of Gov’t Mule on Hammond organ and piano, David Castglione on sax, and Larry Packer on fiddle. They play these blues-influenced, roots-rocking tunes with style and energy. The songs hark back to the early influences of rock that have always kept the music alive. There’s a bit of rockabilly, some Cajun spice and plenty of honest rock’n’roll. Falzarano’s songs are memorable and infectious. It’s easy to find yourself humming these tunes for days after just one listen. The long history of the band ensures that they are able to play together in ways that constantly demonstrate a top-notch musical chemistry and the ability to listen and interact spontaneously. As with any band of this kind the songs seem like teasers for extended jams. Everything about Mecca screams that Michael Falzarano & the Memphis Pilgrims are a band that need to catch live and get your ya-yas out. You can’t go wrong with this band, anyone who appreciates tightly-played well-crafted, authentic rock’n’roll well enjoy this album.