Drummer - Percussionist - Educator - Composer

Forever Real Review for Allmusic.com


  • Herb Robertson - trumpet
  • Michael Jefry Stevens - piano
  • Joe Fonda - bass
  • Harvey Sorgen - drums
  • Napoleon Maddox - human beat-box and poetry

Bassist Joe Fonda and pianist Michael Jefry Stevens contributed all seven originals to this program and co-lead the post-bop quartet. Trumpeter Herb Robertson takes several impressive solos, ranging from fairly straightforward statements to odd percussive sounds on "From the Source." The communication between Stevens (who is quite adventurous on "A Question of Love" before it becomes a haunting ballad) and Fonda is tight, evolving from having played together for quite a few years. Drummer Harvey Sorgen is subtle in support while Napoleon Maddox only appears on "Cotton," speaking some poetry. "Relentlessness," which has odd accents reminiscent of Anthony Braxton, is a highlight of this stimulating set which is well-worth checking out.